Home » Arts & Culture » All Set for ZimDancehall Awards

All is set for the Zimdancehall Awards ceremony, which is scheduled to take place at the Eastend Hall, Harare Exhibition Park tonight. The awards which honour artiste in the genre will see a line up of performers taking the centre stage. Some artistes who are billed to perform include Seh Calaz, Freeman, Soul Jah Love, Lady Squanda, Kinnah, Terminator, Legendary Unruly, Ras Pompy and Spider among others.

Speaking to The Herald Entertainment, the spokesperson for the official Zimdancehall Awards, Phinias Mushayi, said he was happy with the awards and everything was in place.

“We are ready for the show and we urge fans to come and support their favourite artistes.

“The voting process was done well. For the seating arrangement there is the VVIP, VIP and the general public,” he said.

He said there are 27 awards which are up for grab and the show will give the opportunity to upcoming chanters to showcase their talents.

So far, Mbare-based chanter, Seh Calaz is leading on the nomination list with more than three nominations.

Calaz is also in the tightly contested category of Best Male Artiste with big guns such as Winky D, Tocky Vibes, Soul Jah Love and Shinsoman.

In the Song of the year category the contenders are Winky D for the song “Paita Party”, Legend Elly (Giroriya), “Mama Devante” by Shinsoman, Tocky Vibes’s “Mhai” and Seh Calaz’s “Kwatinobva Kwakakasiyana-siyana”.

This year’s edition has some new categories which have been introduced such as Best Zim dancehall Youngster, Best Conscious Song, Best Conscious Riddim, Best Collaboration Riddim, Zimdancehall Ambassador, Best Zimdancehall Artiste in Diaspora and the Best Dressed Artiste.

Last year saw legendary, king of dancehall Winky D walking away with four gongs. The Ninja President, whose real name is Wallace Chirumiko won awards in the Best Social Message, Best Live Performer, Best Video and Choreography, Best Artiste 2013 (male) categories while Shinsoman walked away with the Song of the Year Award for “Mawayawaya”.

Source : The Herald