Home » Sports » CHAN Squad Out

CALLISTO Pasuwa has named his African Championship of Nations squad to take on the Comoros in a preliminary round, first leg on Sunday at Rufaro.

The squad largely has the players who did duty for the national Under-23 last month as well as the Cosafa tournament.

The only two new faces are Divine Magaya and Edmore Chirambadare who was overlooked for the Cosafa Cup in South Africa last month.

Pasuwa, whose future is yet to be secured by Zifa, wants the team to start their training camp today.

Yesterday, he said there was no point for the Bulawayo-based players such as Donovan Bernard, who were in Blantyre, to break camp and go to the City of Kings.

It was not yet clear whether Zifa had arranged the camp and Zifa chief executive Jonathan Mashingaidze could only say that the board meeting which took place in the capital yesterday would deliberate on Pasuwa’s contract and how they will meet his financial needs.

“The players from Bulawayo will remain in camp then we will call the other players and the players should get in camp as early as today (yesterday) or tomorrow (today) as there is no longer time.

“There aren’t any changes to the team and it is mostly the Under-23s and a few players who are doing well in the Premiership,” said Pasuwa.

The Warriors reached the semi-finals of the last CHAN edition in South Africa in 2014 and would be looking at securing a berth at next year’s finals in Rwanda.


Goalkeepers: Tatenda Mukuruva (Dynamos), Donovan Benard (How Mine), Takabva Mawaya (Hwange).

Defenders: Blessing Moyo (Dynamos), Devine Magaya, Liberty Chakoroma (Buffaloes), Justice Jangano (Gunners), Raphael Kawondera (Flame Lily), Teenage Hadebe (Highlanders), Jimmy Konono (Whawha).

Midfielders: Gerald Takwara (Tsholotsho), Danny Phiri (Chicken Inn), Wisdom Mutasa (FC Platinum), Marshal Mudehwe (FC Platinum), Carlos Rusere (Dynamos), Emmanuel Mandiranga (FC Platinum), Ronald Chitiyo (Dynamos), Ncobizitha Masuku (Highlanders), Malvern Gaki (Triangle).

Strikers: Pritchard Mpelele (Highlanders), Edmore Chirambadare (Chicken Inn), Thomas Chideu (Highlanders), Tino Kadewere (Harare City), Evans Rusike (Hwange), Mcgini Sibanda (How Mine).

Source : The Herald