Home » Governance » Eight to Contest Hwedza Primaries

THE Zanu-PF national election directorate has approved eight candidates to battle it out in tomorrow’s primary election to select a candidate to represent the revolutionary party in the Hwedza North by-election.

The seat was left vacant following the death of Cde Simon Musanhu who was also Environment, Water and Climate Deputy Minister in January this year.

President Mugabe set May 5 for the by-election. The nomination court will sit on March 16.

Zanu-PF national political commissar, Cde Saviour Kasukuwere, said they had approved the list submitted to them by Mashonaland East provincial election directorate with minor amendments.

“Yes, we met today to consider the list. It is now all systems go for the primary elections,” said Cde Kasukuwere who is also Environment, Water and Climate Minister.

The candidates are Engineer Taengwa Parewa, Cdes Apolonia Munzverengi, Faith Chisango, Nathan Matemera, Brian Nyaguse, Rodwell Zinyemba, David Musabayana and Obert Mutema.

Zanu-PF Mashonaland East acting provincial chairperson Cde Aeneas Chigwedere, said preparations for ballot papers had already started.

“Ballot papers are being prepared at the party’s headquarters. We expect to get them here in Hwedza later during the day tomorrow (today),” said Cde Chigwedere.

He said no bottlenecks had been registered in the run up to the elections.

The preparation for Hwedza North by-elections comes as political parties prepare for the Mount Darwin West and Chirumanzu-Zibagwe poll on March 27.

Five candidates will battle it out in Chirumanzu-Zibagwe and these are Cde Auxilia Mnangagwa (Zanu-PF), Ganzamoyo Dewah (Good People’s Movement), Rumbidzai Abigirl Musambasi (Transform Zimbabwe), Munashe Mutodza (National Constitutional Assembly) and Wilbroad Chawaona Kanoti (Independent).

Mt Darwin West constituency will be contested by Kenard Fungai (Transform Zimbabwe), Reuben Mafigu (National Constitutional Assembly), Cyril Muradzi (Freedom Front) and Barnwell Seremwe (Zanu-PF).

Source : The Herald