Home » Sports » English Rugby Schools to Tour Zim

THE England Independent Schools side is expected in the country tomorrow and will take on Mbare Academy in their opening game at Harare Sports Club on Sunday evening.The British schoolboys are set to take on four local sides — Mbare Academy, Zimbabwe Under-19 disguised as Goshawks, Harare provincial select side the Lions and a Barbarians side that features the best players from the three local sides.

All their games will be at Sports Club starting at 4pm and the English schools side is expected to take on Harare Lions on Monday, the Goshawks on Wednesday before they wrap up their week-long tour with a date against the Barbarians on Friday.

Some of the players on the Goshawks side, which is using this game as part of their preparations for the Junior Africa Cup set for Namibia later in the year, include Brandon Mandivenga, Brendon Boshi, Daniel Moolman and Jabu Mutukwa who were part of the famous 2013 Craven Week side.

For the Lambs, the tour of Zimbabwe marks their end-of-season while it is just the beginning for Zimbabwe schools calendar, providing another good platform for coaches and selectors to have a look at the junior players.

The last time any side from England toured Zimbabwe was two years ago when the Barbarians Under-18 side won all their games against Prince Edward, Lomagundi College and St John’s College.

Meanwhile, the rugby fraternity is hopeful the Zimbabwe Rugby Union will put into practice the professional ethics of communication, managing and marketing, the game they learnt from the Lead Rugby conference held in Cape Town recently. Zimbabwe was represented by executive vice-president Colleen de Jong, who is also the Union’s chief executive, at the Confederation of African rugby workshop held for the top eight rugby playing nations on the continent.


Goshawks: S.Mwayera, N. Tanyanyiwa T. Chipadza, T. Gwisai, G. Spapati, K. Nhira, J. Mutukwa, B. Boshi, C. Archer, K. Kazembe, Chikwezhero, D. Lennon, I. Bowden, T. Ngosi, M. Mashaya, S. Mhembere, S. Roche, T Mudariki, J. Zietsman, B. Scheepers, T. Mujeni, F. Mugwari, T. Gonese, D. Moolman, B. Mandivenga, T. Muringani, T. Dhliwayo, H. de la Fargue, E. Snyman, S. Coles, K. Burger, T. Mangwana, Mhizha.

England Independent Schools Squad: Jonathan

Allen(Solihull School), Rory Carter (Caterham), Alex Dunham (King’s College Taunton), Jack Edwards(Leys), William Foster (Eltham College), Nick Gilbertson(Barnard Castle), Oliver Glasse (Denstone College), Andy Hamilton (Blundell’s School), Patrick Marmion (Leys), Hugo McPherson (Eton College), Charles Morgan (Woodhouse Grove), Juyin Oluwayemi (Culford), Ben Onyeama-Chrisite (Bristol Grammar School), William Potter (Kings College Taunton), Elliot Roofe (Colfe’s), Sam Rossiter (Pangbourne College), Toby Simpson (St. Peter’s York), Guy Snowball (Portsmouth Grammar School), Patrick Tarleton (Cheltenham College), Jack Tinker (Hymers College), Richard Whiteside (Kirkham Grammar School), Jack Williams (Kelly College), Miles Moorhouse (Clifton College), Gus Antons (RGS Newcastle), Joel MacFarlane (Bradford Grammar School), William Pepper (St Peters York), Harrison Dodds (Hymers College), Thomas Jones (Hymers College).

Source : The Herald