Home » Governance » Four in Line for Top Parly Post

Parliament’S Standing Rules and Orders Committee on Thursday interviewed four people for the post of Clerk of Parliament that fell vacant following the retirement of Mr Austin Zvoma.The four interviewed were Acting Clerk of Parliament Mr Kennedy Chokuda, former Deputy Clerk of Parliament Ms Helen Dingane, Harare provincial magistrate Mr Vakai Chikwekwe and city lawyer Mr Misheck Hogwe.

They were shortlisted for the post from about 50 applicants who showed interest in the job.

The interviews were led by the Law and Procedure chairperson Mr Nelson Chamisa, who leads the SROC sub-committee.

Mr Chamisa confirmed the interviews, but declined to give details.

“It is still subject of a parliamentary process where we will report to the SROC chaired by Speaker of National Assembly Aocate Jacob Mudenda,” said Mr Chamisa.

Sources said the real race was between Mr Chokuda and Ms Dingane given their background of working for Parliament.

“While it is too early to make judgments, either of these two stand a good chance given their background. Both of them have committed their whole working experience for Parliament either in Zimbabwe or in South Africa, in respect of Dingane,” said a source.

Ms Dingane joined Parliament in 1982 where she rose through the ranks before joining the Pan African Parliament in Midrand, South Africa, in 2009.

Mr Zvoma retired in November when he turned 65 after holding the post for 25 years.

The SROC resolved to retire him despite his protests as he argued that the new Constitution conferred him with two new terms and said he ought to be allowed to serve them.

Members of the SROC refused to buy into that argument, saying they should be guided by terms and conditions of his contract, which specified that retirement age was 65 years.

A Clerk of Parliament is appointed for a six-year term and may be reappointed at the expiry of the first term.

Duties of the Clerk of Parliament include attending at the table when Parliament sits and aising the Speaker of the National Assembly and President of Senate, and their deputies on legal and procedural matters.

Source : The Herald