Home » Governance » Kasukuwere Appoints New Board for Zinwa

Environment, Water and Climate Minister Saviour Kasukuwere has appointed a new board for the Zimbabwe National Water Authority.

The board, chaired by businessman Mr Michael Shongwe Ndoro, was tasked to recover more than US$100 million owed to the authority by local authorities, private consumers and farmers.

Minister Kasukuwere said the challenges facing Zinwa required a visionary board.

“The authority has just developed a strategic plan which will guide its operations into the future. The board is expected to oversee the implementation of this plan and where necessary review and align it with the authority’s national aspirations as spelt out in the Zimbabwe Agenda for Sustainable Socio-Economic Transformation.

“Several strategic water infrastructure projects remain incomplete, among them Gwayi-Shangani Dam, Tokwe-Mukosi and several others. I am looking to this new board to forge strategic partnerships that will facilitate the mobilisation of resources required for the completion of these projects,” he said.

“The authority finds itself failing to collect debts in excess of US$100 million owed by local authorities, private consumers, irrigating farmers and Government departments for a variety of reasons. This board is expected to come up with mechanisms that will ensure the user pays principle applies.”

Minister Kasukuwere said US$50 million was required for completion of Tokwe-Mukosi Dam, and another US$80 million for Gwayi Dam. Kunzvi Dam also remains incomplete.

“I will expect the board to critically look at the Zinwa organisational structure and assess its suitability and appropriateness to deliver. Where necessary please remove ‘fat’ and give it back to me.

“The board will need to come up with modern and efficient ways of strengthening the Zinwa human resources base with the view to retaining professional staff and coming up with motivation strategies for the critical staff,” he said.

Other members of the board include Zinwa chief executive Engineer Albert Muyambo, ministry official Mr Gilbert Mawere, chartered accountant Ms Duduzile Shinya, City of Harare chamber secretary Mrs Josephine Ncube, economist Ms Joyce Malaba, civil engineer Dr Michael Tumbare, businessman and farmer Mr Garikai Musikavanhu, and farmers Ms Anna Tshuma and Ms Betty Biri.

Source : The Herald