Home » Governance » Maziwisa Aims to Improve Service Delivery

Newly-elected Highfield West Member of the National Assembly Cde Psychology Maziwisa has prioritised improvement of service delivery in the constituency as part of his grand development plan.

Cde Maziwisa brought the seat back to Zanu-PF in the just-ended by-elections after trouncing eight other candidates by a wider margin.

He won the election with 2 254 votes, while his closest competitor, Emmanuel Dzumbunu (Independent candidate), garnered 230 votes.

In an interview, Cde Maziwisa hailed President Mugabe for allowing him to participate in the election, saying he was ready to be a true representative of the party and the people at large.

“I am eternally grateful to President Robert Mugabe for allowing me the opportunity to represent the party in such a historically significant constituency.

“It is a clear sign he (President Mugabe) has confidence in my capabilities.

“As his representative, I promise to do my absolute best in making sure that not only do we bring development to Highfield but also bring the seat back to the party in 2018 and beyond,” he said.

Cde Maziwisa said his immediate focus was on improving service delivery in the constituency.

“I have already hit the ground with my main attention being on service delivery, infrastructure development and improving the general well-being of the people of Highfield.

“Highfield will never be the same again,” said.

Cde Maziwisa, attributed his victory to God.

“Many thanks to the Almighty God without whom victory on June 10 would have been a total and complete impossibility.

“In that regard, I wish to express a special thank you to his servant Prophet Emmanuel Makandiwa for his prayers and for interceding on my behalf throughout my campaign period,” he said.

In the Highfield West by-election, Kudakwashe Makuwe of Transform Zimbabwe was in third position with 146 votes.

Brian Shamu (DARE) got 56 votes, Pswarayi Tashinga (Independent) 52 votes, Kudzai Saruwaka (MavamboKusileDawn) 48, Onita Muchena (PIMZ) 29 vote, Godfrey Jena (Progressive Democrats of Zimbabwe) 27 votes, and Shadreck Nyanganya (Freedom Front Party) 10 votes.

Source : The Herald