Home » Governance » MDC Happy With Legislators

The MDC led by Professor Welshman Ncube has said it will not recall its four legislators from Parliament as the party is happy and has confidence in their performance.

The MDC has four legislators in Parliament, Mrs Priscilla Misihairabwi-Mushonga and Mrs Jasmine Toffa both of whom are in the National Assembly under proportional representation and Senators Mrs Tholakele Khumalo and Mrs Joyce Ndlovu.

“I don’t know where that question is arising from? We are happy with the performance of our legislators,” Prof Ncube said on Wednesday. “They went into Parliament on an MDC banner and are still under the MDC.”

Prof Ncube said the United Movement for Democratic Change (UMDC) had not been formed yet. “The UMDC has not been formed yet and if it is to be formed, it will have its congress in August,” he said.

MDC-T expelled 21 MPs, 17 from the National Assembly and four from Senate for being part of UMDC. The MDC Renewal led by Mrs Sekai Holland and the Prof Ncube led MDC, have agreed in principle to form the UMDC with the inaugural congress scheduled for August although the leadership issue is yet to be dealt with. On Tuesday, National Assembly Speaker Aocate Jacob Mudenda and Senate President Cde Edna Madzongwe, expelled 17 National Assembly representatives and four senators respectively after they were recalled by their party, MDC-T.

Source : The Herald