Home » Governance » Ncube’s MDC Announces New Changes

THE Welshman Ncube led MDC has reshuffled its national executive, putting together a team which it says would “democratise” Zimbabwe in 2018.

The appointments come after the resignation of the party’s secretary general Pricilla Misihairambwi-Mushonga and Goodrich Chimbaira who unceremoniously left the troubled political outfit.

The appointments were made in Gweru at the weekend and announced to the media Tuesday evening.

Party spokesperson Joshua Mhambi said the new team is going to intensify its national outreach programme to expose Zanu PF’s failed promises to the electorate.

“It was resolved at the meeting that party programmes would be intensified throughout the country and the party leadership was given the responsibility of ensuring all provinces intensified meetings and rallies,” said Mhambi in statement.

He said the MDC also reiterated that they would never participate in any future elections if Zanu PF does not reform the electoral laws.

The Ncube-led party its two sister MDCs, those led by Morgan Tsvangirai and the other one which is headed by Tendai Biti, boycotted the just ended 16 by-elections which were won resoundingly by Zanu PF.

“At the meeting, we noted the recent sham by-elections and reiterated the party’s long standing decision not to participate in polls without the implementation of electoral reforms,” said Mhambi.

“The leadership saluted the party membership for its resilience amidst multiple forms of misinformation and disinformation from detractors.

“The committee commended the continued support and commitment to the cause of standing for and speaking the truth, fighting for fairness and a better life for all.”

Jacob Moyo was elected the new MDC National Chairperson and is being deputized by ShupikaiMandaza with Miriam Mushayi becoming the deputy secretary general.

Theresa Muchovo becomes treasurer general, replacing Paul Themba Nyathi who is now leads the party’s Council of Elders.

Jealous Sansole is the deputy treasurer general, Ellen Shiriyedenga director of Planning, Strategy and Implementation deputised by LinosMushonga.

Faraoh Jele becomes the chairperson of the disciplinary committee and is deputised by Wonder Chinamhora.

Ilos Nyoni assumes the role of director of elections and is deputised by Shorai Marongedze.

Sakhile Masuku is now the secretary for business investments and projects and is deputized by Benaya Muchovo.

Abednico Moyo moves from deputy director of elections to deputy secretary for training and political education and he also becomes a member of the national disciplinary committee.

Zvikomborero Munyoro becomes Deputy Secretary for Transport while Charles Ncube and Matsveru Musvevereki become deputy secretary for recruitment and deputy director of organising, respectively.

Source : New Zimbabwe