Home » Governance » New MPs to Be Sworn in Tomorrow

Sixteen Zanu-PF candidates who won the June 10 by-elections will be sworn in as legislators tomorrow, Clerk of Parliament Mr Kennedy Chokuda said yesterday.

In a statement, Mr Chokuda said due to space constraints in the Speaker’s gallery, the legislators were restricted to be accompanied by one person only.

“The Clerk of Parliament wishes to aise Honourable Members of Parliament who were elected during the by-elections held last Wednesday that the swearing in ceremony will be held tomorrow at Parliament building,” he said.

“The new members are being invited to attend a group induction meeting to be held in the National Assembly chamber beginning at 10am. The swearing in ceremony will be at 2 pm on the same day.”

The 16 are Tsholotsho North MP-elect Professor Jonathan Moyo, Dangamvura-Chikanga’s Cde Isau Mupfumi, Hurungwe West’s Cde Keith Guzah, Cde Terence Mukupe of Harare East, Dzivarasekwa representative Cde Omega Hungwe, Kuwadzana MP-elect Cde Betty Nhambu and Kambuzuma’s Cde Tinashe Maduza.

Others are Cde Psychology Maziwisa of Highfield West, Glen View South’s Cde Pius Madzinga, Headlands’ Cde Christopher Chingosho and Mbizo’s Cde Vongaishe Mupereri.

In Bulawayo, the MPs-elect are Retired Colonel Tshinga Dube for Makokoba, Mpopoma’s Cde Joseph Tshuma, Cde Maidei Mpala of Lobengula, Luveve’s Cde Ntandoyenkosi Mlilo and Pumula’s Cde Godfrey Malaba.

Source : The Herald