Home » Governance » Politburo – Frantic Wait for Zanu-PF Leaders

ZANU PF officials are understood to be engaged in frantic canvassing for the party’s much leaner politburo with last minute meetings taking place ahead of Wednesday’s crucial central committee gathering.

Sources in the ruling party said the ten provinces are each likely to forward two names for considerations to President Robert Mugabe by Tuesday as time runs out for the aging leader to come up with his 21 politburo members.

The Zanu PF constitution was amended to reduce members of the politburo from 64 to 25 including the presidium.

“This has been a different Monday as meetings have been taking place from the Zanu PF Headquarters, Army headquarters as well as provincial headquarters as provinces are trying to come up with potential politburo members,” said a Zanu PF source.

Sources said Midlands province is expected to forward Justice minister Emmerson Mnangagwa while there is still discussion as to whether the newly elected central committee member, July Moyo can bounce back.

Matabeleland North is reportedly settling for Speaker of Parliament Jacob Mudenda and Jonathan Moyo, Bulawayo is going for Sikhanyiso Ndlovu and Absolom Sikhosana who bounced back into the central committee through the back door after Mugabe appointed them.

The sources also said Kembo Mohadi and Naison Khutshwekhaya Ndlovu may represent Matabeleland South while Masvingo is expected to forward Shuvai Mahofa and Daniel Shumba.

Supa Mandiwanzira and Oppah Muchinguri are likely to represent Manicaland while Mashonaland Central has one candidate at the moment – Saviour Kasukuwere.

Senate president Edna Madzongwe and Ignatious Chombo seem to be front-runners from the Mashonaland West province while Claveria Chizema is the Harare candidate at the moment.

Mashonaland East is yet to finalise its central committee members after Mugabe ordered them to reorganize themselves on Saturday.

“Zanu PF is engaged in another war because even those who survived the central committee elections and were in the last politburo want to retain their positions, unfortunately only 21 members should be selected,” the source said.

Source : New Zimbabwe