Home » Judicial » Public to Nominate Anti-Corruption Commissioners

Parliament’S Standing Rules and Orders Committee has called on the public to nominate persons for consideration for appointment to the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission.This follows the expiry of the previous commission’s term on August 31 last year.

Commissioners to ZACC are appointed by the President from a list submitted by the SROC as required by the new Constitution.

“The term of office of the eight commissioners expired on the 31st of August 2013 while that of the chairperson will expire on the 31st August 2014. Accordingly, the SROC is hereby calling on the public to nominate persons to be considered for appointment to this commission,” reads a statement from Parliament.

The call for nominations comes after the nullification of the re-appointment of the previous commission as it contravened requirements of the Constitution.

Persons nominated will undergo public interviews and the SROC will then submit the list of the successful candidates to President Mugabe for appointment.

The previous commission was chaired by Mr Denford Chirindo and included Ms Teresa Mugadza, Dr Elita Sakupwanya, Mr Emmanuel Chimwanda, Mr Lakayana Dube, Dr Goodwill Shana and Mr Shepherd Gwasira.

Speaker of the National Assembly Cde Jacob Mudenda recently blocked attempts by legislators to set up a committee to investigate cases of corruption saying it was the constitutional mandate of ZACC.

Source : The Herald