Home » Sports » Ref Bamala’s Stock Continues to Rise

REIGNING Castle Premier Soccer League Referee of the Year Thabani Bamala’s stock continues to rise after he was named among a cast of local officials that have been appointed onto the Fifa panel for 2015.

Bamala will headline a list of nine match officials that have been inducted on the Fifa panel and he will be one of three centre referees on that list.

Harare referees Ruzive Ruzive and Norman Matemere have been retained while a notable exclusion is that of Nomore Masundire.

In notifying the match officials of their appointment, Zifa Referees Committee secretary Tendai Bwanya urged Bamala and his colleagues to work hard.

“On behalf of the ZIFA Referees Committee I would like to congratulate you for being accepted on the 2015 Fifa panel.

“Acceptance and working are two different things, you have to work extra had to justify your existence.

“Wish you all the best in your preparations for the forthcoming assignments which may be lined up soon,” said Bwanya.

The 32-year-old Bamala had an outstanding season in 2014 in which he handled a number of high-profile matches with distinction.

Bongani Gadzikwa, Edgar Rumeck, Salani Ncube, Brighton Nyika, Tapfumanei Mutengwa and Abraham Manda make up the list of those who will be assistant referees on the Fifa panel.

Zimbabwe also has three centre referees on the Fifa panel and these are Rusina Majo, Tambudzai Tawengwa and Thanks Nyahuye while the trio of Claris Sekai, veteran Stella Ruvinga and Faith Mloyi are the assistants.

Mloyi was one of the referees who handled matches at the African Union Council of Sport Region 5 Under-20 Youth Games in Bulawayo earlier this month.

Bwanya also released the full list of Zifa panel referees for the 2015 season as the cast of match commissioners for the coming year that includes seasoned hands Wilfred Mukuna, Sabelo Maphosa, Brighton Mudzamiri, Andrew Pamire and Nelson Kusosa.

Referees Panels:

Fifa Referees:

Norman Matemera, Ruzive Ruzive, Thabani Bamala

Assistant Referees:

Bongani Gadzikwa, Edgar Rumeck, Salani Ncube, Brighton Nyika, Tapfumanei Mutengwa, Abraham Manda

Fifa Women Referees:

Rusina Majo, Tambudzai Tawengwa, Thanks Nyahuye

Women Assistant Referees:

Claris Sekai, Stella Ruvinga, Faith Mloyi

ZIFA Referees:

Thabani Bamala, Allen Bhasvi, Bwanali Bonamali, Pedzisai Chadya, Brighton Chimene, Kuda Majoni, Munyaradzi Makwanda, Jimmy Makwanda, Thomas Masaa, Makonese Masakadza, Josia Masimira, Norman Matemera, Nomore Masundire, Pilan Nccube, Arnold Ncube, Hardley Ndazi, Mlindeli Ndebele, Nkosana Nduna, Thanks Nyahuye, Ruzive Ruzive, Tambudzayi Tavengwa

Reserves: Tendai Mhlambo and Nkosikhona Moyo

Match Commissioners:

Tendai Bwanya, Tazvitya Chipere, Godfrey Gombwe, Charles Kazembe, Nelson Kusosa, John Madziva, Obert Mamvura, Maphosa Sabelo, Wilton Maponda, Lovemore Marange, Patrick Marumbi, Japhet Mfiri, Brighton Mudzamiri, Wilfred Mukuna, Gladmore Muzambi, Jennifer Ncube, Ndabazinhle Ncube, Edson Nkawu, Andrew Pamire, Mike Phiri, David Sibanda, Hasmon Zingoma.

Source : The Herald