Home » Sports » Rugby Union Names Extended Training Squads

THE Zimbabwe Rugby Union has named two extended training squads for the age-grade national sides as they begin selection for players to represent Zimbabwe at the Junior Africa Cup and Craven Week tournaments.Zimbabwe Under-20 coach Nsikelelo “Sykes” Sibanda announced a 56-member squad while the ZRU released a developmental squad that is made up of 43 players.

According to the ZRU, the Under-18 development squad was selected during the just-ended Dairibord Schools Rugby Festival at Prince Edward School.

The squad is part of plans by the rugby mother-body to send two sides to South Africa for their annual youth weeks and in future is expected to plan in the Academy Week, a second tier competition to the Craven Week.

Allan Wilson, Chinhoyi High. Herentals College, Milton High, Goromonzi High, Nhowe Mission and George Stark of Mbare make up the developmental side.

“This is in an effort to promote the development of the game at developing schools around the country,” the ZRU said in a statement.

“From this squad a team of 15 players will be selected to participate in the Zimbabwe Under-18 national trials.

“Members of this team could ultimately be eligible for a Zimbabwe U-18 ‘A’ or the National U-18 Craven Week XV and will be an integral part of the development and success of this age-grade team in 2014 and beyond.

“The Zimbabwe Rugby Union sees this initiative as a positive step in promoting the ethos of the game. Rugby is a ‘Sport for All’ which remains true to its core values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline and respect.”

These players are first expected to meet tomorrow at Prince Edward where their Possibles will face the Probables in a curtain-raiser to the Tigers game against Falcon College second teams before another training session at the same venue the following day.

This will be followed by an inclusive two day training camp at PE starting May 25 where a 23-member team will be selected for the national trials at St John’s College on May 31.


Under-19 Squad:

Tanaka Muyambo, Tafadzwa Chipadza, Tawonashe Zanza, William Mashinge (all Watershed), Zawadi Mayeka, Eli Snyman , Wade Michelle, Shane Snarter, Cole Bond (all St Johns College), Munashe Furamera, Shepherd Mhembere, Francois Chikukwa (all Prince Edward), Newton Tanyanyiwa, Sean Mwayera (all Eaglesvale), Gabriel Spapati (Churchill), Thabani Gumede, Brian Mutanga, Stephen Bhasera, Justin Zietsman (all Falcon), Kudakwashe Nhira (HSC), Jabulani Mutukwa (OGS), Brandon Boshi (OGS), Courtney Archer (St Andrews SA), Kuziva Kazembe (Northwood High), T.Chikwezhero (Maritzberg College SA), Dale Lemon (Cleeve School UK), Ivan Bawden (OGS), Tawanda Ngosi (MCC), Munyaradzi Mashaya, Sebastian Roche (OGS), Brandon Scheepers (Busters), Thabani Mujeni, Francis Mungwari (Hillcrest), Tinashe Gonese (Hillcrest), Daniel Moolman (UK), Brandon Mandivenga (UK), Tapiwa Muringani (UK), Thulani Dhliwayo (Monash SA), Hugo De La Fargue (St Andrews SA), Nyasha Tarusenga (St Benedicts SA), Niall Morely (Western Province SA), Velempini Dlelo (Plumtree), Rukudzo Gona, Sean Coles (OGS), Kurt Burger (SA), Parirenyatwa (OGS), Charles Moyo, Simba Muza ( Heritage), Kuda Chipunza (HSC), Tapiwa Mangwana (St Benedicts SA), Mhizha (St Benedicts), Farai Mudariki (Micahelhouse SA), Tristan Mahomed (Chinhoyi), Tatenda Zhoya (St Benedicts SA), Justin Mendelsohn (CBC), Tinashe Gwisai(MCC).



Roberto Ndlela (Western Surbubs), Tinashe Chaza (Allan Wilson), Lucky Goto (Allan Wilson), Takudzwa Mudzamiri (Kwekwe High), Alberto Mangani (Kwekwe High), Ray Maga (George Stark), Kudakwashe Rupuyo (Mt Pleasant), Nelson Gwenya ( Herentials College), Simba Muza (Heritage School), Terrence Ncube (Milton High), Ngoni Makoni (Goromonzi High), Marshall Mudzimu (Vainona High), Brighton Chinyanya (Vainona High), Zibusiso Hlabangana (Milton High), Blessing Nota (George Stark), Tawanda Shamu (Tynwald High), Kumbulani Mbazo (Herentials College), Tanaka Mukanganise (Herentials ), Nicolas Mapondera (Nhowe Mission),Dextar Nyamuzanga (Nhowe Mission), Givemore Muchenje (Allan Wilson), Tawanda Majachani(Allan Wilson), Dickens Mukokoti (Allan Wilson), Richard Mutukwa (Allan Wilson), Pride Nyameni (Allan Wilson), Ryan Musumhi (Allan Wilson), Lionel Mangwende (Heritage School), Emmanuel Zangari ( Milton High), Simon Ndhlovu (Heritage School), Israel Pawandiwa ( Vainona High), James Vambe (Vainona High), Tarisai Mugariri (Milton High), Adrian Zvarevashe (Allan Wilson), Chemist Manduku (Ellis Robins), Tanaka Kaura (Ellis Robins), Tanaka Sinclair (Ellis Robins), Wise Kupara (George Stark), Arthur Kwashira (Tynwald High), Takadiwa Chipfumbu (Trust Academy), Tafadzwa Zhangazha (Chinhoyi High), Bravy Lamp (Trust Academy), Johns Watch (Bernard Mizeki), Lucas Tembani (Bernard).

Source : The Herald