Home » Governance » Zanu-PF Approves Murehwa Central Committee Members

Zanu-PF has approved the election of three party cadres from Murehwa District to the Central Committee following an election that was held in the district last week.

Party spokesperson Cde Simon Khaya Moyo said following a rerun of elections in Mashonaland East Province for Murehwa District, Cde Lillian Zemura polled 110 votes, Cde Stanley Jakopo 103 votes, Cde David Parirenyatwa 67 votes and Cde Joel Biggie Matiza 62 votes.

“There were no spoilt papers. The position therefore is that since Murehwa District has three (3) Central Committee seats, the top three (3) were duly elected Central Committee members of the said district that is Cde Lillian Zemura, Cde Stanley Jakopo and Cde David Parirenyatwa,” said Cde Khaya Moyo.

Other heavyweights in the province who survived the chop included Cdes Sydney Sekeramayi, Paddy Zhanda, Jerry Gotora, Newton Kachepa and Eric Navaya.

They were being linked to the ousted former Vice President Joice Mujuru and her cabal.

President Mugabe ordered fresh elections in the province at the close of the Zanu-PF 6th National People’s Congress in Harare last week after the people claimed there were some irregularities in the way polls had been conducted.

Source : The Herald