Home » Governance » Zanu-PF Bigwigs Could Kiss Politburo Goodbye

THE majority of Zanu PF bigwigs who failed to be elected into the powerful central committee will kiss good bye to the party’s highest decision making body between congresses, the politburo.

President Robert Mugabe is Tuesday expected to preside over the last politburo meeting which will pave the way for the party’s congress during which a new leadership will be ushered in.

Politburo sources said Mugabe is likely not to retain those who failed to be voted into the central committee due to the alleged coup plots levelled against them.

“It will be their last sitting because they have unresolved issues and Mugabe cannot appoint them again,” said a senior Zanu PF official.

“Nothing serious will be discussed on Tuesday except the update on congress preparedness.”

“So it is up to them (rebels) to attend it or not. In any case they are already out because by Sunday there will be a new look politburo with members selected from those who were voted into the central committee,” the source said.

Sources also said vice president Joice Mujuru is likely to abscond the last meeting like she did last week.

“It seems she has accepted her fate and there is no reason for her to attend.”

Close to 50 Zanu PF bigwigs were booted out of the powerful central committee during last week’s elections.

Central committee elections are held once every five years together with elections of the new presidium. Mugabe normally selects politburo members from the central committee.

However following internecine factional fights which saw vice president Joice Mujuru being accused of plotting to topple Mugabe, all her closest allies were either voted out or barred from contesting.

Among those who have fallen by the wayside are cabinet ministers. They include Lazarus Dokora, Nicholas Goche, Dzikamai Mavhaire, Walter Mzembi, Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, Flora Bhuka and Francis Nhema, all of whom lost their Central Committee membership. Other senior party members who lost in the elections are Alice Chimbudzi and Stefan Mukusha, Angeline Masuku, Absalom Sikhosana, Sikhanyiso Ndlovu and Molly Mpofu.

Last week the politburo endorsed constitutional amendments that will see a reduced politburo with on 25 members from the current 64.

“All deputies will no longer be part of the politburo members, they will sit in the central committee because only 25 substantive members will constitute the politburo from the current 64,” said the source adding: “Appointments by the president will not be based on seniority or hierarchy but merit.”

Source : New Zimbabwe