Home » Governance » Zanu-PF MPs Demand Biti Parliament Ouster

ZANU PF legislators have launched a bid to have former MDC-T secretary-general Tendai Biti and some eleven MPs recalled from parliament for “betraying their leader Morgan Tsvangirai”.

The Speaker of Parliament has previously blocked efforts by the Tsvangirai-led MDC-T party to force Biti’s ouster from the House of Assembly after he, along with the 11 MPs, left the country’s main opposition party to form a rival group.

Zanu PF MP for Buhera West, Oliver Mandipaka, demanded Biti’s expulsion from Parliament Wednesday through a point of order.

Mandipaka argued that since the Speaker Jacob Mudenda expelled Didymus Mutasa and Temba Mliswa from parliament, those who “betrayed their leader Morgan Tsvangirai and formed a separate party, must also be recalled”.

The Zanu PF move to have the Renewal members recalled comes at a time when Douglas Mwonzora, the MDC-T secretary general also wrote to parliament to have the “rebels’ recalled from the house.

Said Mandipaka: “Mr Speaker, Sir …

“I would like to bring to the attention of the chair that this house expelled Mr Didymus Mutasa and Mr Temba Mliswa after Zanu PF wrote to the Speaker to the effect that they were no longer representing the interests of the party they won the ticket on to be in this house.

“I would want to remind the Speaker that we also have some members who betrayed their leader Mr Morgan Tsvangirai and formed their own party which was initially called renewal and now UMDC.

“I wanted to find out, what the fate of these members is and what the position of the house is regarding the members.”

As he spoke, MDC MP Priscilla Misiharabwi-Mushonga and other legislators from the opposition could be seen disapproving the motion while those from Zanu PF ululated in delight.

Acting speaker of the national assembly, Rueben Marumahoko said he would make a ruling at a later date.

The ouster of Biti and his allies would mean fresh elections in their respective constituencies.

It however, remains unclear whether the MDC-T will participate in the polls.The party recently declared that it will not participate in any election until reforms to ensure a free and fair vote are implemented.

In May last year Biti and a group of party MPs he broke ranks with the opposition party over some differences with party leader Morgan Tsvangirai.

The Tsvangirai led group wrote a letter to parliament recalling the former finance minister and his group.

But the speaker, Jacob Mudenda, in his response, distanced himself from the MDC-T feud, referring the parties to the courts of law.

Among the MPs who are likely to go with Biti include, Settlement Chikwinya, Willas Madzimure, Rose Nkomo, Samuel Sipepa Nkomo, Lucia Matibenga, Paul and Solomon Madzore, Anele Ndebele, and senator Watchy Sibanda.

Source : New Zimbabwe