Home » General » Zim Name World Cup Squad

THE Zimbabwe rugby team to face Russia at Central Stadium on August 2 in a 2015 World Cup qualifier has been named.

Twenty-four players will make the trip and leave on Friday for the crucial match.

“We are sending in 24 players instead of the 25 that we have been travelling with. I understand this is due to the demands of the organisers,” Dawson said in a statement.

“In terms of who is going to Russia, it’s basically the same team that travelled to Madagascar. Shayne Mukombe comes into the squad, replacing Gerald Sibanda.

“In terms of preparations, players are preparing from their bases, we will leave on Friday for a four-day camp in Russia.

“The locally based players will meet with the South African-based players in Johannesburg briefly before we connect directly to Russia.

“Players who are in Europe will fly to Russia on Friday night and we will then start our camp there for four days before we play the hosts.

“I am confident we will qualify although I will be quick to admit that this will be a tight encounter.”

Zimbabwe Rugby Union vice-president Nyararai Sibanda will travel as head of delegation of the side with Cyprian Mandenge as assistant coach, Brighton Chivandire – team manager and Sharon Mkumbudzi the team’s physiotherapist.

Zimbabwe Sables

Joubert Pieter, Murray Keith, Kevin Nqindi, Jan Ferreira, Sanele Sibanda, Graeme Lawler, Jacques Leitao (vice captain), Lambert Groenewald, Hilton Mudariki, Guy Cronje, Stephan Hunduza, Riaan O’neill, Daniel Hondo (captain), Tafadzwa Chitokwindo, Danny Robertson, Lawrence Cleminson, Matthew Mandioma, Farai Mudariki, Takunda Chifokoyo, Fortunate Chipendu, Kingsley Lang, Peter du Toit, Lenience Tambwera, Shayne Makombe

Source : The Herald