Home » Sports » Zim to Host SA in Rugby Legends Tie

ZIMBABWE will be hosting the South African Rugby Springbok Legends in Victoria Falls from 26th – 29th of March.

The SA Rugby Legends and their Zimbabwean counterparts will play a match on 28th of March at Victoria Falls Primary School grounds.

The Springboks’ visit will include various activities in the resorts town such as conducting a coaching clinic for children from the local schools.

The match and all activities that will be undertaken during the team’s visit will be covered by a South African Super Sport film crew and a program will be shown in the following week’s game on Super Sport Channels.

As Super Sport has a dedicated rugby channel they will ensure extensive coverage of the whole event.

Announcing the match details Friday Zimbabwe Tourism Authority (ZTA) said the South African Rugby legends’ visit is a notable event which will also go a long way in profiling the destination.

“We call upon all Zimbabweans to support this event by attending the eventmatch and cheering on our Zimbabwe Rugby legends and giving a warm welcome to the visiting team,” said ZTA.

“The visit is of great benefit to the Victoria Falls community through the coaching clinic and other social responsibility programs that they will undertake”.

“Special packages for the event are available which you can all take aantage of and have a great weekend in our premier resort town of Victoria Falls”.

The team lineups are as follows:


1. Brett Holloway

2. Brighton Chivandere.

3. Bryan Ray.

4. Costa Dinga.

5. Craig Riley.

6. David Walters.

7. Emmanuel Manyoro.

8. Gary Bowes.

9. Greg Friend.

10. Justin Buchanan.

11. Juan Du Plessis.

12. Mat Accorsi.

13. Paul Staak.

14. Rory Jackson.

15. Sandile Sibanda.

16. Sean Grant.

17. Sean Robinson.

18. Tapiwa Mangezi.

19. Warren Wentzel.

20. Zie Kumalo.


1. Louis Louscher

2. Pieter Dixon

3. Eugene Marx

4. Trevor Boynton

5. Werner Cronje

6. Jonno Brayley

7. Craig McIntosh

8. Jonathan Moekwena

9. Neil Cole

10. Henno Mentz

11. Grant Esterhuizen

12. Mac Masina

13. Trevor Halstead

14. Lawrence Sephaka

15. Doppies le Grange

16. Dave von Hoesslin

17. Wayne Munn

18. John Slade

Source : New Zimbabwe