Home » Human Rights » Zim Women Cricket Team Qualify for Thailand Tourney

ZIMBABWE women’s national team cricket manager Caroline Nyamande has hailed her charges after they secured a place at the International Cricket Council World Twenty20 Tournament Global Qualifiers in Thailand. Their ICC Pepsi Africa Women’s Trophy final against Tanzania in Benoni, South Africa, was rained off yesterday. When the points were shared, Zimbabwe emerged as the winners.

Zimbabwe secured one of the top four spots for a place at the Global qualifiers in Thailand as part of the qualifying process for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament in India in March 2016.

“We have qualified and we are all very proud and happy,” said Nyamande.

In their matches in Benoni, the Zimbabwe women’s side lost to South Africa Invitation.

Precious Marange top-scored for Zimbabwe with an unbeaten 25 while opener Chipo Mugeri chipped in with 19 in making 88-6.

The hosts then powered to 89-4 in 17.6 overs to win by six wickets. Zimbabwe beat Kenya by nine wickets. They restricted the East Africans to 61-5 in their 20 overs. Zimbabwe then cruised to victory with Marange unbeaten on 25 and Mugeri added 19 runs in the chase.


Zimbabwe- 150 for 4 in 20 overs (Chipo Mugeri 68, Modester Mupachikwa 44 I. Van Zyl 3-32)

Namibia- 102 for 5 in 20 overs (C. Esterhuysen 22 Audrey Mazvishaya 2-19, Precious Marange 1-15)

Zimbabwe won by 48 runs.

Tanzania — 61 all out in 19.4 overs (M. Iddi 28 Precious Marange 3-14, Thando Mlilo 3-16)

Zimbabwe- 63 for 4 in 10.4 overs (Lorraine Tshuma 24*, Precious Marange 14*, M. Shakim 2-15)

Zimbabwe won by six wickets.

Zimbabwe — 88 for 7 in 20 overs (Precious Marange 25*, Chipo Mugeri 19 Akona Nyiki 2-16, Ayabonga Khaka 2-11)

SA Invitational XI — 89 for 4 in 18 overs (Andrie Steyn 25, Nikita Sole 19 Josephine Nkomo 3-13, Christabel Chatonzwa 1-13)

SA Invitational XI won by 6 wickets.

Kenya- 61 for 5 in 20 overs (Sylvia Kinyua 18* Esther Mbofana 1-10, Audrey Mazvishaya 1-14)

Zimbabwe- 62 for 1 in 10.2 overs (Ashley Ndiraya 27*, Chipo Mugeri 18 S. Bhakita 1-24)

Zimbabwe won by 9 wickets.

Uganda- 70 for 8 in 20 overs (N. Kayondo 13 Tasmeen Granger 3-18, Esther Mbofana 2-11)

Zimbabwe — 72 for 1 in 12.4 overs (Chipo Mugeri 49*, Modester Mupachikwa 16 C Aweko 1-25)

Zimbabwe won by 9 wickets.


Chipo Mugeri (captain), Priviledge Charumbira,Christabel Chatonzwa,Sarah Dambanevana, Chiedza Dhururu,Tasmeen Granger, Precious Marange, Sharne Mayers,Audrey Mazvishaya, Esther Mbofana, Thandakwenkosi Mlilo, Pellagia Mujaji, Modester Mupachikwa, Anesu Mushangwe, Mary Anne Musonda, Nomatter Mutasa, Ashley Ndiraya, Josephine Nkomo,Nomvelo Sibanda, Ellen Tshuma and Loreen Tshuma.


Caroline Chamunorwa — Manager

Trevor Phiri — Coach

Chido Pfumojena — Physiotherapist

Source : The Herald