Home » Sports » ZRU Establish League Committee

AFTER taking over the administration of the domestic league from the National Rugby Union, the Zimbabwe Rugby Union have formed a committee that will be responsible for the proposed new league.The committee comprises Harare Province chairman, Carlton Mujuru, Bulawayo Province chairman Sean Robinson and club chairmen who include Jo Kawonza (Old Hararians), Richard Morris (Old Georgians), Donald Mangenje (Harare Sports Club), Gerald Chinyani (Police Defenders) and ZRU director of rugby Brighton Chivandire.

“This committee will consider fixtures based on the most cost-effective operations, consider A and B Leagues in Provinces and consider that A League teams will include B League and Women’s teams concurrently when setting fixtures.

“Financial implications per fixture will be agreed and will include travel expenses only where necessary cost of Match Officials and ambulance services.

“A final proposal will be submitted to the ZRU for confirmation and circulated to all Provinces and Clubs concerned while the fixtures will be confirmed shortly.

“Proposals from parties outside of the Local Competitions Committee must be submitted through LCC for consideration and discussion with the ZRU,” read part of the statement.

The ZRU added that their activities will be implemented through such committees that have been mandated to run the league as directed by the rugby mother body.

“Activities of the ZRU shall be implemented through its special committees appointed to run each entity overall co-ordination shall be done by the secretariat, national executive board and the national executive.

“Definitions and mandates of these special committees formed from time to time will be defined by the national executive board to ensure they act within the confines of the mandate given and according to set policy and this constitution,” read the statement.

Source : The Herald