HARARE-- Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed a seven-member commission, chaired by former South African President Kgalema Motlanthe, to investigate the post election violence which occurred in the capital, Harare on August 1, resulting in the deaths of seven people.

Hundreds of opposition MDC Alliance supporters rioted on the streets of Harare to protest against purported delays by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) in announcing results of the July 30 general election, although under the law, the electoral body had up to five days to announce polls results.

The armed supporters attempted to disrupt the further announcement of the parliamentary elections of the polls, whose initial results showed the MDC Alliance had been comprehensively defeated by the ruling Zanu-PF party.

After failing to contain the protests, the police sought the assistance of the army.

MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa had, prior to the election, promised chaos and that he would not accept any result other than a win.

President Mnangagwa said here Wednesday that the Commission, which has three months to conduct its work, had been appointed under the Commission of Inquiry Act, chapter 10:07. Its terms of reference include inquiring into the circumstances leading to the violence, identifying the actors and their leaders, their motive and strategies employed in the protests and also inquiring into the intervention by the police in the maintenance of law and order.

He said the Commission was also required to investigate the circumstances which necessitated the involvement of the military in the maintenance of law and order and to consider whether the degree of force

used was appropriate.

Everything must be transparent; this has happened in the glare of international media, we would want the investigation again to be done in the same manner. A report will be produced and published, the culprits will be dealt with, he said.

Other members of the Commission include Rodney Dixon a leading international law, public law, and human rights lawyer from Britain, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, a former Commonwealth secretary general, and the former chief of defence forces of the Tanzanian People's Defence Forces, General Davis Mwamunyange.

Local members include leading academics Professor Lovemore Madhuku, Professor Charity Manyeruke and Vimbai Nyemba, a former president of the Law Society of Zimbabwe.

We have consulted all the seven and they have all agreed, arrangements are being made for them to come to be resident in Zimbabwe during the process, President Mnangagwa said.

The members of the Commission would be sworn in soon. At the end of their inquiry, the Commission is expected to make suitable recommendations and to report to the President in writing.