Health Services Medical


HARARE--Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa has sworn into office members of his new 20-strong Cabinet as he sets the path for work to begin in earnest to transform the country into a middle-income nation by 2030.

President Mnangagwa Monday described the new team, a mix of veterans with years of experience and youthful ministers getting in government for the first time, as a development Cabinet.

I believe that in the next five years, we should uplift quite a number of our people who are in the marginalised category, uplift them into middle class, he said when he appointed the new ministers last Friday.

Swearing in of the new ministers follows President Mnangagwa's victory in the July 30 general election in which his ruling Zanu PF party also claimed a two-thirds majority in Parliament.

Key ministers in the new Cabinet, which has been largely welcomed by the majority of Zimbabweans, include Professor Mthuli Ncube, to head the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, Mangaliso Ndlovu, who

takes over the Industry and Commerce Ministry, and the new Health and Child Care Minister, Dr Obadiah Moyo.

Renowned athlete and Olympic gold medallist Kirsty Coventry was among the surprise inclusions in the government, and takes charge of the Ministry of Youth, Sport, Art and Recreation.

Professor Ncube, who was the first to take the oath of office, secrecy and loyalty, said getting the economy to stabilise, clear its huge debt and regaining public confidence in the country's financial systems and dealing with the cash crisis are among his top priorities, which, if addressed, would eventually lead to re-introduction of a local currency.

The issue of currency reform will be underway; it is important that we do that but currency reform alone is not adequate, it needs a second leg which is fiscal policy to create stability, so that is what I will be focusing on, he said.

Foreign Affairs Minister, Sibusiso Moyo said the country would continue with its engagement and re-engagement policy. We are saying we want to be free to deploy our people, to trade internationally, free to participate in the international order, he said.

Other ministers include Winston Chitando, who remains in charge of Mines and Mining Development, Joram

Gumbo to lead the Energy and Power Development Ministry and Cain Mathema at Home Affairs (Interior) and Cultural Heritage.

Ziyambi Ziyambi remains at the Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Ministyry while Joel Biggie Matiza leads the Transport and Infrastructural Development ministry.

Retired Chief Marshal Perence Shiri is in charge of the expanded Ministry of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Culture and Rural Resettlement while Dr Sekai Nzenza takes over the Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare Ministry.

Oppah Muchinguri was appointed to lead the Defence and War Veterans Ministry while July Moyo remains at the helm at the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing.